Banff student wins ski scholarship

Banff student wins ski scholarship

BANFF, AB ? Banff high school student Colin Elliott has been awarded the 2011 3 Ski Areas Alpine Scholarship for showing excellence both academics and athletics.

Elliott, 17, has been a member of the Canmore Nordic Ski Team for the past three years, competing at the National Cross Country Ski Championships. This year, he placed 20th in his class. When he competes in Quebec City in 2012, he?s set a goal of reaching the top 10.

Making the grade

He?s been the top student at the Banff Community High School in grades 7, 8, 9 and 10. He?s pulled off a perfect 100 percent in Physics, Pure Math and French, and is 90 percent or above in Chemistry, Social Studies, English Language Arts and Instrumental Music.

The 3 Ski Areas Alpine Scholarship was first awarded in 2008, using some of the funds raised during the annual Community Ski Days events involving Sunshine Village Ski & Snowboard Resort and the two other area facilities. It goes a student at Banff and Canmore high schools completing either grade 10 or 11, who is also engaged at a high level in winter sport. (This year?s Canmore recipient will be announced in the fall.)

To qualify, students are assessed on grades (with no failing grades) and sport performance and participation, including competing at a national or international level. Winners receive a $1,000 prize.

A community effort

?It means a lot to me,? says Elliott. He says he?ll use the money towards post-secondary education in mathematics at the University of Waterloo, and probably buy a new set of competition-level ski poles, as well. He says he?ll be working hard over the coming months to do the ?little things? that will give him the extra competitive edge.

?This is just one more way our resort is putting money back into the community,? says John Scurfield, Vice-President of Sunshine Village. ?Sunshine Village is very proud of our connection to the Bow Valley, and to Banff National Park.?

Elliott, who lives in Banff with parents Kevin Elliott and Deb Hornsby, is the first Nordic skier to win the award. Since its origin, the scholarship has been awarded to Tess Davies (Alpine), Will Laver (Alpine) and Lou Doyon (Alpine) of Canmore Collegiate High School. At Banff, in addition to Elliott, the award has gone to Cody Pederson (Alpine).